Skip to:

About Us

Main Page

Location, Contact Info, and Hours

Physical Address:
300 Montgomery Hall
Mississippi State, MS 39762

Mailing Address:
Post Office Box P
Mississippi State, MS 39762

Phone: 662.325.3344
Fax: 662.325.7975
Email: askelton@career.msstate.edu

Hours: 8am - 5pm, Monday - Friday (excluding MSU holidays)

Mission Statement

The Career Center empowers individuals to develop skills that will enhance career readiness and lifelong career management.

The student will be able to:

  • Demonstrate personal accountability and effective work habits, such as punctuality, working productively with others, time management, effective communication, etc.
  • Act responsibly with the interests of the larger community in mind
  • Learn from his/her mistakes
  • Identify and articulate their skills, strengths, knowledge, and experiences relevant to the position desired and career goals
  • Navigate and explore job options
  • Self-advocate for opportunities in the workplace

To accomplish this we will:

  • Educate students and alumni about the career development process;
  • Design, develop, and deliver population specific services, programs, and events;
  • Provide quality experiental learning and career opportunities to enhance academic experience and professional preparation of students;
  • Assess outcomes to ensure students are achieving successful results; and
  • Demonstrate a commitment to collaboration, diversity, and customer service

Vision Statement

The Career Center will be valued by the University community as the premier resource for facilitating the complete career development of students and alumni.

Our Staff

Kelly Atwood

Kelly Atwood

Assistant Director

Email: katwood@career.msstate.edu

Coordinates: College of Business and Adkerson School of Accountancy

Caragh Boyles

Caragh Boyles

Associate Director, Assessment & Internships for PSPA

Email: cboyles@career.msstate.edu

Office location: Bowen Hall, 190

Coordinates: Political Science and Public Administration (Internships & Full-time) and Washington, D. C. Internships

Angie Chrestman

Angie Chrestman

Director

Email: achrestman@career.msstate.edu

Coordinates: Aerospace Engineering, Agricultural and Biological Engineering, Co-ops and internships, Golf and Sports Turf Management, PGA Golf Management

Heather Woodall

Heather Woodall

Senior Coordinator

Email: hwoodall@career.msstate.edu

Coordinates: College of Business (Finance, Economics and Insurance), College of Architecture, Art and Design, Student-Athletes, Veteran Affairs, Co-ops and internships

Jan Fitzgerald

Jan Fitzgerald

Associate Director

Email: jfitzgerald@career.msstate.edu

Coordinates: College of Agriculture and Life Sciences, College of Forest Resources, College of Veterinary Medicine

Edie Irvin

Edie Irvin

Associate Director

Email: eirvin@career.msstate.edu

Coordinates: College of Arts and Sciences (Physical Sciences), Undeclared Students

Martha Jones

Martha Jones

Manager of Employer Relations and Recruiting

Email: mjones@career.msstate.edu

Coordinates: Information Session and On-Campus Recruiting

Daniel Morgan

Daniel Morgan

Senior Coordinator

Email: dmorgan@career.msstate.edu

Coordinates:College of Arts and Sciences (Excluding Physical Sciences), College of Education

Leslie Neal

Leslie Neal

Manager of Marketing and Events

Email: lneal@career.msstate.edu

Coordinates: Career Days, Dinner Etiquette, Graduate and Professional School Information Day, and Career Center Advertising

Jessica Scarbrough

Jessica Scarbrough

Administrative Assistant

Email: scarbrough@career.msstate.edu

Amy Skelton

Amy Skelton

Administrative Assistant

Email: askelton@career.msstate.edu

Charlie Wilder

Charlie Wilder

Assistant Director

Email: cwilder@career.msstate.edu

Coordinates: Bagley College of Engineering, Industrial Technology